Why I Don’t Wear Makeup As A 31-Year-Old Woman

Hevan Cathey
2 min readJan 27, 2021

A question I have always asked myself is, “Why is it absolutely essential for women to wear makeup?” I grew up with a mom who would not leave the house unless she had a full face of makeup on. Even as a kid I found the thought of “needing” makeup every day to be a bit extreme, but it’s actually more common than you might think.

We live in a world full of airbrushed flawless skin, and over-hyped eye shadow pallets. For most women, a baked up face is pretty much the status quo, but not for me…

I am a 31-year-old woman who never wears makeup.

When I was around 21, there was a HUGE beauty guru fad on youtube, and I was one of the girls who fell under that influence. I started wearing makeup every day because I thought that's just what you were supposed to do, but after a while, I started feeling obligated to do it. I felt that if I didn't put on makeup any given day, then I wasn't pretty or put together enough. That is no a message I want to send to my future daughters. I would want them to feel beautiful and confident in their own skin, just as I do now. Makeup is great don’t get me wrong, but it SHOULD NOT define our self-esteem. We are beautiful with the skin God gave us ladies, please don’t forget that.

-Stay Beautiful.

--

--

Hevan Cathey

Hey there I'm Hevan, I love to share Christian lifestyle content. My true passion is spreading love and encouragement.